Rattlers lose at home

William Thompson

The Tucumcari Rattlers had the “green light” from their coach to shoot three pointers, but too often they came up short as Guymon won 59-42 at the Tucumcari High School Gymnasium, Tuesday night. Coach John Span said if his Rattlers want to shoot the three, he’s all for it.

“If they’ve got an open shot, I give them the green light,” said Span. “That’s our game.”

Ray Johnson, one of Tucumcari’s better three-point shooters, tried a number of threes, but hit more rim than net in the game against Guymon. That was typical of several Tucumcari players Tuesday. However, Larry Roybal did come off the bench to hit a three when the game was out of reach.

The Rattlers led at the end of the first quarter 11-10. And in the second period, Tucumcari several times began a slight run, but the run fizzled out. It was the same for Guymon. No team in the second quarter managed any real momentum through the first half, although the Tigers gained the halftime advantage, 27-22.

As in games of recent past, Tucumcari’s opponent steadily added to its lead in the third quarter. As the Tigers’ point total grew, Tucumcari started heaving more three pointers in an effort to close the gap with their Oklahoma opponents.
Tucumcari never managed to close that gap. In fact, Guymon gained 13 points on them. The Rattlers at least kept the team from the Oklahoma Panhandle from going up by over twenty in the final period., the final being 59-42.
According to Coach Span, his team played a very talented Guymon team.

“All five of their players can handle the ball really well,” said Span. “They can really shoot the ball well, too.”

Span said the reason Tucumcari played close in the first half was shooting.

“We just shot the ball a lot better in the first half,” he said.

Scoring :
Guym: 10 27 47 59
Tcum: 11 22 29 42

Individual Scoring:
Tucumcari: Nemi Salvador 2, Larry Roybal 5, Joseph Aragon 12, Chris McCasland 4, Ray Johnson 8, Felimon Chavez 6, Justin Galvan 5.
Guymon: Sammy Aranda 7, Dylan McMurry 10, Aaron Mora 4, Spencer Pierce 10, Michael Davis 11, Phillip Wilson 17.