Mesalands honor society inducts 18

Mesalands Community College released a list of 18 new members of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society who have been inducted in a recent ceremony held by the Beta Eta Omega Chapter of Kappa at the college.

According to John Yearout, a spokesman for the college, the purpose of the society is to recognize and encourage scholarship among associate degree students enrolled in two-year colleges.

Inducted were Stephanie Chacon, Shasta Cordova, Danelle Earle, Pagie Evans, Brian Harman, Mary Hipps, Debbie Hoffner, Simone Klutzny, Rita Martinez, Bernadette Mott, Lisa Olsen, Maureen Orgass, Ona Padilla, Bobbi Roybal, David Roybal, Judy Roybal, Eva Slinger, and Sundra Span.
At the ceremony, Reverend Dr. Tom Broom spoke to the inductees, Kappa members and guests prior to the induction.

Each semester an invitation to membership is extended by the chapter to current students, without advanced degrees, who have maintained a grade point average of at least 3.5, who are taking at least six credit hours and have completed at least 12 credit hours of course work, which could lead to an associate degree. After being inducted, members must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.0 to remain active.