Candidates file for county spots

QCS Staff

Three county positions will have some type of competition during the primary stage, as candidates filed for six elected offices Tuesday at the Quay County Courthouse.

Ballot positions were drawn at 5 p.m. at the courthouse, with candidates drawing capsules. Each capsule included a number for a place on the ballot.

No more than three candidates filed for any party in one of the six positions and three of the positions will be unopposed. District 3 Commissioner Franklin D. McCasland will run unopposed for re-election in November, as will County Assessor Janie L. Murray. Sue Smith Moore will run unopposed for probate judge, with incumbent Joyce Thrasher leaving due to term limits. McCasland, Murray and Moore all ran as Democrats.

The sheriff’s race will also feature a new face, as Jack Huntley has served his maximum of two four-year terms. James Witcher runs unopposed on the Republican ticket, while Juan I. Barreras and Joe Schallert will compete in the Democratic primary.

Incumbent Edwin Bruhn runs unopposed on the Republican ticket for magistrate judge. He will face either David Joel Garnett, Dennis D. Townsend or Wayne Charles Thibodeaux III on the Democrat side.

Robert Lopez, who was appointed as a commissioner following the death of Grace Madrid, runs for re-election on the Democratic ticket against Jimmy Sandoval and Doyle Frasier. The winner will face no Republican competition in the November general election.

Candidates can withdraw from the June 6 primary elections before April 4, and absentee voting runs May 9 through June 3.

Questions can be directed to the county clerk’s office at 461-0510.