Council receives $150,000 grant

By Freedom Newspapers

An organization that serves eastern New Mexico has been awarded a federal grant of $150,000 for economic development, U.S. Sen. Jeff Bingaman, D-N.M., announced in a press release Wednesday.

The Eastern Plains Council of Governments is among six New Mexico economic development districts to receive the federal award from the U.S. Department of Commerce, the release reads.

The funds are to be used for long-term regional economic planning and development, according to the release.
“This is a major investment in our state. The funding provided through these grants will help smaller communities throughout New Mexico create good jobs and boost our state’s economy,” Bingaman said via the release.
Eastern Plains Council of Governments serves Curry, Roosevelt, Quay, Union, Harding, Guadalupe and DeBaca counties.

The five other economic development districts to each receive $150,000 are as follows:

l North-Central New Mexico Economic Development District, serving Colfax, Los Alamos, Mora, Rio Arriba, San Miguel, Santa Fe and Taos counties.
l Southeastern New Mexico Economic Development Inc., serving Chaves, Lincoln, Otero, Eddy and Lea counties.
l Mid-Region Council of Governments, serving Bernalillo, Valencia, Torrance and Sandoval counties.
l Northwest New Mexico Council of Governments, serving McKinley, San Juan and Cibola counties.
l South-Central Council of Governments, serving Socorro, Sierra and Doña Ana counties.