03-03-2007: Around Town

Avery John joins family…
James and Heather Malone of Bloomfield, Ind., announce the birth of a son, Avery John, on Jan. 5 at Greene County General Hospital in Linton, Ind.
Avery John weighed 7 pounds, one ounce and was 21 inches long. He was welcomed by his brothers, Alex and Aiden.
Maternal grandparents are Paul and Diane Rice of Claibourne, Ohio, and maternal great-grandparents are Maxine Mayberry of Claibourne and Flora Rice of Loretto, Tenn.
Paternal grandparents are Linda Malone of Tucumcari and Ron and Deb Malone of Aztec and paternal great-grandparents are Ruth Mattics of Tucumcari and Clorinda Quick of Aztec.

Another year together..
Servero “Jack” and Mary Stella Benavidez celebrated their 58th wedding anniversary on March 1. They have five chidren Frances, Judi, Rosann, Laura, and Mark and 11 grandchildren and nine great-grandchildren.
“This is for you, Mommie and Pappy: Our wish for a happy anniversary,” said a note from their children. “Dad, after 40 years of operating your own business, we’re glad to see you enjoying your retirement. And Mom, thanks for being a great homemaker and taking care of us five kids. You are wonderful parents.”

Celebrating No. 9..
Kinley Jaynes celebrated her ninth birthday at home with family and friends. Kinley was born in Tucumcari on Feb. 13, 1998. Her parents are Scot and Michelle Jaynes of Tucumcari. Her brothers and sisters are Billy of Germany, Delia, Ryan, and Rhea of Tucumcari. Grandparents are Eddie and Sandie Shipley and Gary and Nancy Jaynes, all of Tucumcari. Her great grandmothers are Maxine Aitken of Dodge City, Kan., and Maureen Jaynes of Tucumcari. She has 15 cousins and a niece and nephew, Star and J.J.

MCC election Tuesday..
The only polling place that will be open for Tuesday’s Mesalands Community College Board of Trustees election will be the Commission Chambers of the Quay County Courthouse, 300 S. Third Street. Hours will be from 7 a.m to 7 p.m. on Tuesday. The candidates, who are running unopposed, are: Jimmy Sandoval in District 2 and J. Bronson Moore for District 4.