Three city commissioners face contested races

By Chelle Delaney: Quay County Sun

Three incumbent city commissioners will face contested races in the upcoming election for the Tucumcari City Commission.
Eight candidates filed their intent on Tuesday to run in the municipal election.

l In District 1, Ralph L. Moya and Robert W. Ciolli declared their candidacies for the District 1 position now held by Mayor Antonio J. Apodaca.
l In District 2, Jimmy R. Sanodval declared his candidacy for the seat now held by Christopher Maestas.
l In District 3, James L. Witcher is uncontested.
l In District 4, Mark A. Hodge declared his candidacy for the position now held by Robert C. Lumpkin.

The race in District 4 is for a two-year term because Lumpkin was appointed to fill out Mayor Mary Mayfield’s term. Mayfield resigned earlier this year because of health reasons. All other races are for a four-year term.
In other municipal races in Quay County the candidates, by village, are:

l For Councilmember Position No. 1, Angie M. Bailey declared her candidacy for the seat now held by Darrel Boulware
l For Councilmember Position No. 2, Jack V. Claborn, Jr. declared his candidacy for the seat held by Steve Garcia.

San Jon
Two incumbent at-large trustees face races against a newcomer:
l Curtis W. Simonsen declared his candidacy to seek one of the two seats held by incumbent trustees Leo Pacheco and Rodney J. Stoner.

The House Village Council seats open for election are not contested and all incumbents are seeking reelection.
They are:
l Sherman Martin for mayor
l Councilor Cathy Ray for councilor
l Deborah Patton Councilor
Elections will be March 4 in House, Logan, San Jon and Tucumcari.