Rattler wresters comeback with a first, second

The Tucumcari Rattler wresting team finished second on Tuesday at the River Road Tournament at Amarillo, Texas.

The Rattlers beat both River Road and Bushland with a score of 72-6 but lost to Boys Ranch by a score of 44-31.

The Rattlers went into the tournament with a first place finish on Saturday at the the Sierra Blanca Tournament at Ruidoso.

This is the first time that the team has won the Sierra Blanca tournament since 1995, said Rattlers wrestling coach Eddie Encinias.
However, the team was back in the gym on Monday preparing for River Road.

“These guys deserve all the credit,” Encinias said. “They came in Monday ready to work hard to prepare for River Road even after winning at Ruidoso.”

At Sierra Blanca, the Rattlers overcame teams such as 3A Ruidoso, 4A Roswell, 4A Goddard, 4A Bernalillo and 5A Hobbs.

“I am real proud that the guys won this tournament,” Encinias said. “They competed against some tough teams. My veteran wrestlers continue to improve and I expect great things from them when we go to state.”

The Rattlers first place win comes after a rough tournament performance on Jan. 11 at Saint Michael’s in Santa Fe. In that tournament the varsity wrestlers were unable to break through fourth place.

“What a difference a week makes,” Encinias said . “At Saint Michael’s the guys just could not get into rhythm. But they did not let that get to them. We came home. They practiced hard and completely turned it around at Ruidoso.”

River Road Tournament
Match results by matches and weight
Raymond Jimenez 3-0 103
Casey Romero 2-1 112
Chris Apodaca 2-1 119
Mat Pacheco 1-2 125
Michael Fazekas 3-0 130
Ryan Fought 3-0 135
Casey Jendusa 2-1 140
Mike Martinez 2-1 145
Wesley Martinez 3-0 152
Patrick Wiegel 2-1 160
Adam Lopez 1-2 171
Esteban Martinez 1-2 189
Josh Enriquez 3-0 215
Leroy Sena 3-0 285

Sierra Blanca Tournament
Individual results by placing,weight
Raymond Jimenez, first, 103
Cameron Manning, third, 125
Michael Fazekas, first, 130
Ryan Fought, second, 135
Wesley Martinez, second, 152
Patrick Wiegel fourth, 160
Josh Enriquez, first, 215
Leroy Sena, second, 285