Write-in candidate joins District 3 race

By QCS Staff

Jerry Dale Williamson, a write-in candidate, declared his candidacy Tuesday for election in Tucumcari’s District 3 race for city commissioner.

It was the only uncontested race in the upcoming elections.

The District 3 post is held by city Commissioner James L. Witcher.

Now, nine candidates are running in the municipal election. They are:

l In District 1, Ralph L. Moya and Robert W. Ciolli declared their candidacies for the District 1 position now held by Mayor Antonio J. Apodaca.
l In District 2, Jimmy R. Sandoval declared his candidacy for the seat now held by Christopher Maestas.
l In District 3, Jerry Dale Williamson for the seat now held by James L. Witcher is uncontested.
l In District 4, Mark A. Hodge declared his candidacy for the position now held by Robert C. Lumpkin.
The race in District 4 is for a two-year term because Lumpkin was appointed to fill out Mayor Mary Mayfield’s term. Mayfield resigned earlier this year because of health reasons. All other races are for a four-year term.
The election will be March 4.