Freedom New takes home 19 NMPA awards

By Freedom New Mexico

Freedom New Mexico claimed 19 awards, and the Clovis News Journal took the general excellence award from the New Mexico Press Association, which held its annual awards ceremony Saturday night in Albuquerque.

Freedom New Mexico papers, including the Portales News Tribune and Quay County Sun, took 12 first-place awards.

Newsroom employees taking first-place awards included Chelle Delaney (general news photo) Sharna Johnson (breaking news story), Kevin Wilson (columns), Karl Terry (general news photo), Rick White (headline writing), Tony Bullocks (feature photo) and Liliana Castillo (photo series).
The Clovis News Journal staff also claimed first place for supplements/special sections and design/typography.

Advertisting first-place winners include Albert Monarrez (classified advertising) and Shawn Luscombe (color advertising).