Candidates square off in Nara Visa

QCS Photo: Thomas Garcia Candidates for local and state primary election gathered Thursday night for a forum at the Nara Visa Community Center.

QCS Photo: Thomas Garcia
Candidates for local and state primary election gathered Thursday night for a forum at the Nara Visa Community Center.

QCS Staff


Thirteen candidates for state and local offices sought voter’s support  at a candidate forum Thursday and helped the Nara Visa Community Center raise $3,000 in donations to help with the upkeep of the community center’s building.

The candidate forum shared space with an enchilada supper and  a pie auction in the community center’s gym.  Some 70 residents gathered to meet the candidates and listen to their reasons for seeking election in the June primary election.

“It was great to have all the candidates and their families come to Nara Visa,” said Renee Rinestine, event coordinator.

Rinestine said while there was not as many local residents attending the function as they would have liked, it was nice to see the nearby Logan and Tucumcari residents and officials at the event.

“The event was more successful than the previous year’s and it’s always nice to draw people to our community,” Rinestine said.

The enchilada dinner raised $450 and a pie auction raised $2,550.

Those candidates in attendance of the forum in ballot order:

All eight candidates running for Quay County Sheriff — Republicans Russell D. Shafer and Juan I. Barreras and Democrats Frankie J. Gutierrez, Nathan S. Wallace, Dennis W. Smart, Lane Bradley, Larry Cooksey and Charles B. Gates.

The sheriff’s candidates agreed the Quay County Sheriff’s Department needs to become more active, seek more input from the community and to develop a more direct public presence to secure public safety. There was also consensus on the need  for sheriff’s deparment participation in efforts to increase drug interdiction.

All of the candidates also said the sheriff’s office should work frequently with other local and state law enforcement agencies. All agreed there is a need for  additional and continued education and training for the person who is elected as sheriff, as well as for deputies in to provide the best protection and service.

Other speakers included a representative for  David Kale Clements,  who is running against Allen E. Weh for the Republican nomination for the U.S. Senate seat held by Tom Udall, and Jefferson L. Byrd, who is running unopposed in the Republican primary for the U.S. House of Representatives seat held by Ben Ray Lujan.

District 3 Quay County Commission candidate Franklin D. McCasland (R) talked about his bid for the seat currently held by Brad Bryant, who has chosen not to run for re-election.

Warren E. Carter is also seeking the District 3 Republican nomination but was not present at the forum.

Also speaking at the forum but running in unopposed races were:

State Rep. Dennis Roch, (R), County Assessor, Vic Baum,  and Probate Judge Nelda Burson (D).






United States Senator

Tom Udall


United State Representative

Ben R Lujan

Robert Blanch


New Mexico Governor

Howie C. Morales

Alan M. Webber

Lawrence D. Rael

Gary K. King

Linda Lopez


Lt. Governor

Debra A. Haaland


Secretary of State (N.M.)

Maggie Toulouse Oliver


State Auditor

Timothy M. Keller


State Treasurer

Tim Eichenberg

John Werthem


Attorney General (N.M.)

Hector Balderas


Commissioner of Public Lands

Ray Bennet Powell


Judge of the Court of Appeals

Kerry C. Kiernan


Quay County Magistrate Judge

David Joel Garnett


Quay County Sheriff

Frankie J. Gutierrez

Nathan S. Wallace

Dennis W. Smart

Lane Bradley

Larry Cooksey

Charles B. Gates


Quay County Probate Judge

Nelda A Burson





United States Senator

Allen E. Weh

David Kale Clements


United States Representative

Jefferson L. Byrd


New Mexico Governor

Susana Martinez


Lt. Governor

John A. Sanchez


Secretary of State (N.M.)

Dianna J. Duran


State Auditor

Robert J. Aragon


State Treasurer

Rick J. Lopez


Attorney General (N.M.)

Susan M. Riedel


Commissioner of Public Lands

Aubrey Dunn


Judge of the Court of Appeals

J. Miles Hanisee


State Representative District 67

Dennis J. Roch


Public Regulation Commissioner

Patrick H. Lyons


Quay County Commissioner District 3

Franklin McCasland

Warren E. Carter


Quay County Assessor

Vic Baum


Quay County Sheriff

Russell D. Shafer

Juan I. Barreras

Speak Your Mind