Local, state candidates file for election

Federal, state and county candidates filed Tuesday for the June 7, 2016 Primary Election.
The following candidate filings are unofficial until they are qualified today at the Quay County Clerk’s Office, said Ellen White, chief deputy clerk.
White said that county residents must register and choose a party by May 10. She said May 10 is also the first day of early/absentee voting.
Candidates have until April 5 to withdraw from the election.

For the position of U.S. Rep. District 3 incumbent Ben R. Lujan had no opposition for the Democratic nomination but three Republicans have filed for their party’s nomination.
Republicans running for US Rep. District 3:
Michael H. Romero, Vadito
Jerald Steve McFall, Angel Fire
Michael Glenn Lucero, Jemez Pueblo

State Sen., Rep. races:
District 7 Sen., Pat Wood (R) unopposed
District 8 Sen., Pete Campos (D) unopposed
District 67 Rep., Dennis J. Roch (R) unopposed

Tenth Judicial District Attorney
Timothy Lee Rose (D) unopposed

Tenth Judicial District Judge
Albert J. Mitchell (R) incumbent
Donald C. Schutte (R)

Quay County seats:

County Clerk
Ellen White (D) unopposed

County Treasurer
Patsy Gresham (R) incumbent
Andew M. Angel (D)

District 1 Commissioner
Cards were drawn at 5 p.m., Tuesday at County Clerk’s Office to determine ballot order.
Daniel Garcia
Robert Lopez
Sue Dowell  incumbent
Doyle Fraiser


District 2 Commissioner
Michael A. Cherry (R) unopposed  incumbent

Speak Your Mind