Quay County Sun - Serving the High Plains

Plenty of contested races in Quay


September 1, 2021

Ron Warnick

Quay County Clerk Ellen White (right) takes candidacy paperwork from Tucumcari municipal judge candidates Jack Hendrickson and Tommy Snapp and incumbent San Jon school board candidate Pam Slater during filing day Aug. 24 at the clerk's office in Tucumcari.

It appears Quay County will see contested races for Tucumcari municipal judge and for at least one seat each in Tucumcari, Logan, House and San Jon municipal bodies and school boards in the Nov. 2 election.

Aug. 24 was the lone filing date for all candidates in 30 local races, with Tommy Snapp the first to wait in line 45 minutes before the Quay County Clerk's Office could take his candidacy paperwork for Tucumcari municipal judge. Not far behind was Willis "Jack" Hendrickson, vying for the same seat.

Quay County Clerk Ellen White said Wednesday it appeared all the filed candidates met eligibility requirements. Write-in candidates also could file for local races on Aug. 31. Those who filed last week also can withdraw on that date. (The Quay County Sun's print deadline was before that time.)

The race for Tucumcari municipal judge appears to be a three-way contest. Hendrickson, Snapp and Christopher Maestas filed for a four-year term. Hendrickson is the husband of previous municipal judge Noreen Hendrickson, who was appointed by Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham as magistrate judge in June.

For Tucumcari school board, Robert Lucero and Cassie Huffman are running for the District 3 seat. The current officeholder and school board president, Leif Gray, did not file for re-election.

Position 1 councilor for the Village of Logan will see a three-way race between Tom Humble, Jai Courtney and Brian Michael Cox. The current officeholder, Benny Newton, declined to run for re-election.

Humble also serves on the Logan school board's Position 5 and faces challenger Toby Jon Willis in that race.

Incumbent Pam Slater faces a challenge from Jeremy Allen for Position 4 on the San Jon school board.

Six candidates filed for two open councilor positions on the Village of House - incumbent Cathy Ray, Destiny Dodd, Danny Dodd, Anita Allen, Matthew Cramblett and Steven Foust. The top two vote-getters on Nov. 2 will win those seats.

Incumbent Ronald McGee and John Snipes will vie for a two-year term as House village councilor.

For House mayor, Joe Patton and Eva Harding are facing off for that position. The current mayor, Sherman Martin, declined to run.

For House school board, Stoney Shoemaker and Lori Foust will contest each other for Position 2. The current officeholder, Rachelle Moon, declined to run.

In Position 1 for House school board, incumbent Calvin Downey faces challenger Randall Lee.

The filing day also served notice for an imminent changing of the guard for several seats, in addition those already mentioned who apparently won't run for re-election.

Tucumcari District 5 Commissioner Todd Duplantis, who also is mayor pro tem, declined to run. Running unopposed for his seat is former county commissioner and former Tucumcari fire chief Mike Cherry.

Also, current Mesalands Community College District 5 trustee Liz Estrada did not file for another term. No one filed for her seat; the board later will have to appoint a replacement, barring any write-in candidates.

The Village of San Jon also will have to appoint two trustees after the Nov. 2 election, as no one filed for those seats.

An appointment will have to be made, as well, for Southwest Quay Soil and Water Conservation District's Position 4 after incumbent Cedar Rush did not file, nor did anyone else for that seat.

Below are the unopposed candidates in Quay County, barring any write-in candidates. All are for four-year teams unless otherwise noted:

• Christopher Wallace Arias, City of Tucumcari District 4 (incumbent)

• Michael W. Cherry, City of Tucumcari District 5

• David Shivers, Village of Logan Position 2 (incumbent)

• William Scott Osborn, Logan Municipal Schools Position 4 (incumbent)

• Franklin Gibson, San Jon Municipal Schools Position 1 (incumbent)

• Cynthia Lee, San Jon Municipal Schools Position 3 (incumbent)

• Jerry Joe Lopez, Tucumcari Municipal Schools Position 2 (incumbent)

• James P. Streetman, Mesalands Community College District 1, six-year term (incumbent)

• Maria T. Stephenson, Mesalands Community College District 3, six-year term (incumbent)

• Thomas J. Sidwell, Mesalands Community College District 4 (incumbent)

• Tonya Hodges, Canadian River Soil and Water Conservation District Position 3 (incumbent)

• David Franklin Garnett, Canadian River Soil and Water Conservation District Position 4 (incumbent)

• Lisa Lynn Runyan, Southwest Quay Soil and Water Conservation District Position 3 (incumbent)

• Colten Lane Grau, Grady Municipal Schools Position 4 (incumbent)

• Phillip Joe Borden, Grady Municipal Schools Position 5 (incumbent)

• Tyler W. Belcher, Melrose Municipal Schools Position 4 (incumbent)

• Larry D. Devaney, Melrose Municipal Schools Position 5 (incumbent)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2022

Rendered 01/10/2023 14:31